New Q Features
As many of you will have noticed, Q was given a bit of an upgrade last night. A number of features were introduced:
A maximum number of 2 users may AUTH to any one account.
+b CHANLEVs are now hidden in a Q WHOAMI, unless +m or +n CHANLEV is combined with it.
Only CHANLEVs for common channels are shown in a Q WHOIS, like L.
Staff members may be identified by a Q WHOIS.
Q will now use a PART message when leaving a channel.
Global auth levels have been removed from the Q WHOIS. In order to help reduce the effects of compromised accounts, as well as idler clones, it has been decided to limit the maximum number of concurrent logins to 2 per account. When you attempt to AUTH to an account with two users already logged in, you will see: -Q- Too many users AUTH'd to this account.
+b CHANLEVs have been removed from a WHOAMI request, unless +m or +n CHANLEV is combined with it, in order to try and prevent spamming accounts with bans as well as reducing the affects when this happens. The chanlev is shown when you have +m or +n CHANLEV in order to allow you to remove it.
No doubt most of you will know that L hides channels from a WHOIS in which you do not have a CHANLEV. This has now been replicated in Q to increase privacy.
Staff members are identified in a Q WHOIS with "-Q- nickname is QuakeNet Staff."; IRC operators will also have "-Q- nickname is an IRC Operator." If anybody approaches you claiming to be staff, and that person is neither identified as a staff member by Q nor as an IRC operator in a /WHOIS, you should ignore the person and report them to #feds.
When Q leaves a channel, for any reason, it will issue an associated PART message. For instance, if Q is suspended from your channel it will leave with "Channel suspended." as the PART message.
The global auth level has been removed from the Q WHOIS in order to reduce confusion amongst new users, as to what the level actually means and how it is changed.
A new security feature was also introduced into Q, and has recently been activated. If the email address for an account is changed, the account will be locked for a period of time. Any further changes to the email address will be denied until this time period has expired, whilst an email will be sent to the original address detailing how the changes may be reversed with the RESET command. The changes may not be reversed once the time limit has expired - the expiry time will be given in the email that is sent to you. It is hoped this change will help reduce the effects of compromised accounts, and allow users to recover them.