New partner: HostSailor
New partner and server from HostSailor The amazing people at HostSailor.com have joined QuakeNet as partners and sponsored a new server hosted in Bucharest, Romania. You can access the server using the hostname hostsailor.ro.quakenet.org and the server will be part ...Read the rest 0 comments
New QuakeNet User and Channel Modes
Following the successful IRCD upgrade on all QuakeNet servers today, there are a number of new channel and user modes available to use. Below is a short description of the most significant new modes available to you. Please try the modes out before asking about them in #feds or #help.
/mode nickname +x
Changes your host to "authname.users.quakenet.org", where authname is your Q account name. Users will see you quit and rejoin IRC with this new host. You are advised to set this mode before entering any channels for maximum security. Please note that you cannot rename your Q auth account once created, and you have to be authed with Q before you can set this mode.
If your authname is "foo" and nickname "foobar": /mode foobar +x You will see: foo.users.quakenet.org is now your hidden host Other users will see: * Quits: foobar (email@example.com) (Registered)
* Joins: foobar (firstname.lastname@example.org)
To remove this host and regain your normal host, you have to reconnect.
/mode nickname +R
Prevents users not authed with Q from messaging (query, privmsg) and noticing you. Non-authed users will receive "You must be authed in order to message this user" when they attempt to /msg. Authed users will still be able to /msg and /notice you as usual. This mode can be used to prevent most anonymous methods of private message flood.
/mode #channel +r
Prevents users who are not authed with Q from joining a channel. They will receive the message "You must have a registered nick" when they attempt to join your channel. Once they have authed they will be able to join the channel normally. +r is a useful mode to set during flood attacks rather than +i (invite only).
/mode #channel +u
Hides quit and part messages from a channel. If a user is in any +u channel, then their quit message is removed.